I'm looking
for help...
Aidpage is free!

Free downloads: GrantGate®  Federal Money Retriever®

Early Learning Fund

Published on AidPage by IDILOGIC on Jun 24, 2005

Who is eligible to apply...

When Congress appropriates at least $150 million to carry-out activities under the ELOA, grants will be provided on a formula-basis to States. States will fund Local Councils that have been designated by an entity of local government. Indian Tribes, Alaska Regional Corporations, and Native Hawaiian entities will be eligible to compete for reserved funds as specified in the Act. At appropriation levels below $150 million in any fiscal year, the Administration for Children and Families, Child Care Bureau, is directed to award grants directly to Local Councils, on a competitive basis. Eligible Local Councils must be designated, in writing, by an entity of local government (or Indian Tribe, Alaska Regional Corporation, or Native Hawaiian entity). "State" means each of the several States of the United States, the District of Columbia, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico.

Eligible Applicant Categories:
Eligible Functional Categories:

An eligible applicant for an FY 2004 ELOA grant must be a Local Council designated, in writing, by a local government entity(ies)(or Indian Tribe, Alaska Regional Corporation, or Native Hawaiian entity) as the Local Council to serve one or more localities for the purpose of applying for an ELOA discretionary grant. Local government means a local unit of government, including specifically a county, municipality, city, town, township, borough, parish, select board, council of local governments (whether or not incorporated as a non-profit corporation under State law), intra-state district, a general purpose unit of local government, and any other interstate or regional or regional unit of local government. "Local government" does not mean any of the 50 States, or any agency or instrumentality of a State exclusive of local governments. To be eligible to receive an ELOA grant award, the membership of the Local Council must be composed of: (1) local agencies that will be directly affected by early learning programs assisted under ELOA and the program announcement; (2) parents; (3) other individuals concerned with early learning issues in the locality, such as representatives of entities providing elementary education, child care resource and referral services, early learning opportunities, child care, and health services; and (4) other key community leaders. Local Councils are required to submit a current needs and resource assessment, documenting the needs of the young children and families in their locality, as well as a plan that addresses the most significant needs. Nonprofit organizations submitting an application must submit proof of their nonprofit status at the time of their submission. Nonprofit organizations submitting an application must submit proof of their nonprofit status at the time of their submission. This can be accomplished by providing: 1) a copy of the applicant's listing in the Internal Revenue Service's (IRS) most recent list of tax-exempt organizations described in Section 501(c)(3) of the IRS code; 2) a copy of the currently valid IRS tax exemption certificate; 3) a copy of the articles of incorporation bearing the seal of the State; 4) a statement from a State taxing body, State Attorney General, or other appropriate State official certifying that the applicant organization has a nonprofit status and that none of the net earnings accrue to any private shareholders or individuals; 5) a certified copy of the organization's certificate of incorporation or similar document that clearly establishes non-profit status; or 6) any of the items in the subparagraphs immediately above for a State or national parent organization and a statement singed by the parent organization that the applicant organization is a local non-profit affiliate.

Note:This is a brief description of the credentials or documentation required prior to, or along with, an application for assistance.

About this section:

This section indicates who can apply to the Federal government for assistance and the criteria the potential applicant must satisfy. For example, individuals may be eligible for research grants, and the criteria to be satisfied may be that they have a professional or scientific degree, 3 years of research experience, and be a citizen of the United States. Universities, medical schools, hospitals, or State and local governments may also be eligible. Where State governments are eligible, the type of State agency will be indicated (State welfare agency or State agency on aging) and the criteria that they must satisfy.

Certain federal programs (e.g., the Pell Grant program which provides grants to students) involve intermediate levels of application processing, i.e., applications are transmitted through colleges or universities that are neither the direct applicant nor the ultimate beneficiary. For these programs, the criteria that the intermediaries must satisfy are also indicated, along with intermediaries who are not eligible.